BBC Big Band

Directed by Barry Forgie

Bud Shank & Jiggs Whigham, guest soloists

Saturday, 10 April 1999 – The Great Hall

Part 1

Part 2


1. Captain Marvel (Chick Corea, arr. Pete Smith)

2. Broadway (arr. Bob Florence)
solos: Vinter, Eshelby

3. Willow Weep For Me
solo: Ash

4. Blues and The Abcessed Tooth (Matt Catingub)
solos: Eshelby, Carter, Vinter

5. How Long Has This Been Going On?
solo: Jiggs Whigham

Tape change

6. Buck Eyed Blues
solo: Whigham

7. Laura (Raksin, arr. Martin Williams)
solos: Williams, Babbington

8. The Night Has a Thousand Eyes
solo: Bud Shank

9. My Romance
solos: Shank, Whigham

10. In a Samba Mode (Bob Florence)
solos: Williams, Ash, Vinter

+++ Interval +++

1. Here's That Rainy Day (Jimmy Van Heusen)
solo: Eshelby

2. Theme and Variations (Bill Holman)
conducted by Vic Lewis
Bill Holman is seated next to Vic Lewis in the front row.

3. Eager Beaver (Stan Kenton)
solo: Williams

4. Threshhold (Pat Williams)
solos: Williams, Eshelby

5. Sugarbox
solo: Whigham

6. When You're Smiling (incomplete due to end of video tape)
solo: Ash

7. Lover Man (arr. Bill Holman)
solo: Shank

8. A View From the Hill
solos: Vinter

9. Apple Piety (Gerry Mulligan)
solos: Shank, Whigham

10. Sunday Girl (Ken Thorne)

11. Triple Threat (Alan Ferguson)
solos: Whigham, Shank, Williams


Saxophone Jay Craig, Howard McGill, Barry Robinson, Vic Ash, Martin Williams

Trumpet Nigel Carter, Brian Rankin, Mark White, Paul Eshelby

Trombone Eddie Lorkin, Russell Howarth, Pete North, Gordon Campbell

Guitar Graham Atha

Piano Andy Vinter

Bass Roy Babbington

Drums Chris Dagley